Skip to main content

PlantWorx Innovation Awards 2025

Subhero image

PlantWorx Innovation Awards will be back in 2025.
Held in association with the Construction Equipment Association – categories will be announced soon.

The PlantWorx Innovation Awards recognise and celebrate those innovative companies, products and services that have made a major impact in the construction equipment industry.

The PlantWorx Innovation Awards recognise and celebrate those innovative companies, products and services that have made a major impact in the construction equipment industry.

Open to all PlantWorx exhibitors' and CEA members – the Awards are given to the most innovative products introduced to the UK market during the past year. Judged by an independent panel of industry experts, the Awards are an accolade to the very best in plant, construction machinery, support products and applications.

Register your interest for 2025

The categories will be announced ahead of PlantWorx 2025, with exhibitors and CEA members able to enter.

Awards presentation will take place at PlantWorx 2025.

Watch this space for announcements on what to expect from the Awards, including special hosts and guests!


Here are the entry categories, details and winners from the PlantWorx Innovation Awards in 2023. 


Winner: Flannery Plant Hire & Leica Geosystems – Laser Detection of Surface Defects

Runner Up: Xerotech – Hibernium Battery Pack

Training is at the core of every successful business. Training and development allow companies to recruit a better workforce, retain quality staff and future proof a company’s ‘talent pipeline’. It’s the ‘gift that keeps on giving’ and an investment that offers a return time and time again.

The judges will be looking for employers in the construction equipment sector who can demonstrate excellence in skills development and prove that their ‘outstanding’ training and skills development programmes have resulted in exceptional benefits for both their employees and organisation.

Companies should demonstrate a positive approach and commitment to training and developing staff, which should include training modes for upskilling and motivating the existing workforce. 

Judges are seeking employers that nurture and develop all talent in an organisation with a creative and innovative methodology.


WINNER: MachineMax – Fleet Management System

Runner Up: MP Filtri – CMP View

Technology is already essential to almost every aspect of the construction equipment sector, from machine automation to virtual reality. And in today’s world, technology has a more important role than ever before, as we strive to overcome skills shortages, improve productivity and make construction safer and more sustainable.

At the same time, our digital capabilities are advancing so quickly that what seemed impossible a year ago is normal practice today.

In this landscape it can be difficult to know which technologies will bring genuine and lasting benefits to the industry and the people working in it. This award recognises companies and individuals who have succeeded in looking past the hype and made the best use of technology or digital innovation to achieve real change or improvement.

Entries should focus on how technology has been used by the company for its benefit, whether it is in streamlining business processes, improving the efficiency of construction. The judges are not necessarily looking for novel technologies; the emphasis is on the use of technology for the benefit of the industry.


This award recognises apprentices who have made a real difference to their workplace and have made impressive progress in their career so far.

Nominated by their employer – the Young Apprentice of the Year will have demonstrated a positive impact in their field and is making an exceptional contribution to their workplace. Judges will be looking for the person that has made a significant contribution and has gone above and beyond what was expected of them in their role.

Leaders of the future – what qualities make this apprentice ‘stand out from the crowd’ and enable them to achieve future success in the construction equipment sector? How will they inspire others to do the same?


WINNER: Lifos – Fort PV Power Storage System

Runner Up: Auger Torque – Cone Crusher Bucket

Awarded to the entry judged to be most beneficial in terms of reducing the environmental impact of construction activities as we head towards achieving net zero/carbon neutral. It could reduce; fuel consumption, an alternative fuel, reduce emissions, noise and waste or may minimise/prevent damage to the worksite. 


WINNER: Spillard Safety Systems – AI Human Detection System 

Runner Up: Onwave – OWL 

The safety award will be presented to the device or system considered to offer the greatest boost to the safety of construction workers – be that PPE, electronic systems or physical devices.


WINNER: Digger Guard – Vandal Guard

Plant theft remains a major problem for the industry and this award recognises the most significant entry in terms of: construction site security, machine or attachment theft prevention or for locating, retrieving and identifying stolen items.


Winners: Digga Europe – HALO Earth Drill Alignment System

Runner Up: Mecalac – Revotruck

Good engineering project deserves great recognition. Designed to recognise engineering innovations, either mechanical or electronic; innovations to overcome particular problems or significantly advance the abilities of existing equipment. This could range from new tyres and improved drivelines to new machine types or unbreakable lights. The judges will be looking for originality and innovation or an innovative application of technology and design.


WINNER: Elite GSS – Hi-Vis Ballast Block

Runner Up: Hydrotechnik – Minimess® Monster

This products and services award category is open to non-operated plant and tools, alongside essential, construction support products and services. This could be a new component, widget or solution – in fact this is a very broad category – designed for innovations that perhaps do not quite fit into the other categories!


British Steel –  Laser Detection of Surface Defects

Xerotech – Hibernium Battery Pack


The last Awards were judged by a handpicked panel of independent experts consisting of some of the most highly regarded individuals in their respective fields:

  1. Margo Cole - Engineer and Construction Journalist - Chair of the Judges
  2. Susan Scurlock MBE - Chief Executive and Founder, Primary Engineer
  3. Graham Black - Editor, Earthmovers Magazine
  4. Mark Lawton - Head of Engineering Surveying, Skanska
  5. Chris Matthew - Strategic Manager, P. Flannery Plant Hire
  6. Amer Essa - Supply Chain Innovation Senior Advisor, National Highways
  7. Lara Young - Global Head of ESG, Cromwell Property Group

We will announce the 2025 judges at a later date.

Media Partners